The Storms of War

The Storms of War

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
A sweeping and gloriously moving novel of the First World War and its aftermath from a brilliant young storyteller recognized on both sides of the Atlantic. "The Storms of War" is the first book in a groundbreaking, cinematic trilogy that tells the story of the de Witt family from 1914 to 1939: perfect for fans of "Downton Abbey," "Birdsong," and "Somewhere in France."
Publisher: Toronto : HarperCollinsPublishersLtd., 2015.
Copyright Date: ©2014.
ISBN: 9781443438247
Characteristics: 514 pages ;,23 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
dirtbag
Sep 01, 2017

It seems to me that it is caching in on the popularity of Downton Abbey. However, possibly she preceded it. This is the bleaker version of same.

j
jazpur
Aug 31, 2014

With this novel about the de Witt family, Kate Williams has added another dimension to the growing genre of fiction relating to the upheavals in society caused by World War I .Celia, the youngest member of the family, is naive to the point of exasperation for the 21st century reader but a credible character for all that in a world turned upside down by the horrors of war.The events are real enough and their impacts far reaching.Well researched and convincing,this is the first in a trilogy. I'm looking forward to the ensuing volumes.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top