Below the Surface

Below the Surface

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Something is wrong with Cooper. He's plagued by a fear he doesn't understand and can't control. Cooper just wants to escape, and a summer vacation aboard the restored cabin cruiser, The Getaway, with best friends Gordy, Hiro, and Lunk seems like the perfect way to do it. Two weeks of fun with no mysteries or life-and-death danger. That's the plan. But their plans are shattered the very first night when they witness a murder. Or did they? Despite their intentions of leaving the investigation to the police, narrow misses and creepy encounters lure them in. Is there really a body floating in the underwater currents of the lake? The closer they get to the truth, the deeper into danger they get. Too late they see the trap. Now each of them must face their own buried fears just below the surface.
Publisher: Grand Rapids, Michigan : Zonderkidz, ©2014.
ISBN: 9780310735014
Characteristics: 397 pages :,maps ;,23 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Apr 09, 2014

Below the Surface is the third book of a trilogy. In this series you follow a group of friends as they encounter life head on. Each story has character development aspect that everyone can learn from woven seamlessly into the story. They are written for Middle Readers, but as an adult I enjoyed this series just as I enjoy many YA books. I have read the first two books in the series to my kids and I can't wait to read this one to them as well. Below the surface is a suspenseful, action-packed book that turns the pages itself. It talks about Fear. Knowing when fear is a good thing and when it is bad. Knowing how to handle fear and overcome it. Knowing when to run and when to face your fear. Tim Shoemaker is a masterful writer that dares to think outside the box and teach lessons through his stories. The Discussion Questions at the back of the book are a great way to cover the deep topics that this series covers with your kids. I was amazed at the what a great discussion I was able to have with my kids after reading these books to them. Code of Silence, book one of the series, covers the topic of honesty. Not telling the truth or withholding information can not only weigh you down with guilt and a burden that is hard to carry, but it can hurt you and those around you. Fast paced, full of mystery and suspense. Back before Dark, book two of the series, covers the topic of abduction. It is a difficult subject to talk about with your kids, we all know stranger danger, but do our kids really get the full concept? I had that talk with my kids on more than one occasion, but still I find them talking to strangers in a store or at a park. Usually I'm close by, but what if I wasn't. Back before Dark takes a look at how you should react and ways to protect yourself. The story is full of twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat wanting more. The trilogy as a whole also holds another overall theme. It clearly shows how to be a good friend in a variety of ways. Throughout the series there is a lot of advice on various topics woven into the story so that kids can learn, and adults can remember, from these examples. I rated each of the books as 5 Stars, I hope that you will take the time to read them and enjoy them as I have. Consider reading them to your kids, (depending on their ages, you might want to read them first yourself to make sure that your kids are ready for the story). Take the time to read this series, it is not only a great story, but a fun lesson for you kids.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top