Dear Edward

Dear Edward

Downloadable Audiobook - 2020
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
A twelve-year-old boy struggles with the worst kind of fame?as the sole survivor of a notorious plane crash?in a heart-wrenching and life-affirming novel for readers of Small Great Things, Little Fires Everywhere, and The Immortalists . What does it mean not just to survive, but to truly live? One summer morning, twelve-year-old Edward Adler, his beloved older brother, his parents, and 183 other passengers board a flight in Newark headed for Los Angeles. Among them are a Wall Street wunderkind, a young woman coming to terms with an unexpected pregnancy, an injured vet returning from Afghanistan, a business tycoon, and a free-spirited woman running away from her controlling husband. Halfway across the country, the plane crashes. Edward is the sole survivor. Edward's story captures the attention of the nation, but he struggles to find a place for himself in a world without his family. He continues to feel that a piece of him has been left in the sky, forever tied to the plane and all of his fellow passengers. But then he makes an unexpected discovery?one that will lead him to the answers of some of life's most profound questions: When you've lost everything, how do find yourself? How do you discover your purpose? Dear Edward is at once a transcendent coming-of-age story, a multidimensional portrait of an unforgettable cast of characters, and a breathtaking illustration of all the ways a broken heart learns to love again.
Publisher: [S.I.] : Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2020
Edition: Unabridged
ISBN: 9780593150979
059315097X
Branch Call Number: Overdrive eAudiobook
Characteristics: 1 online resource
Additional Contributors: Campbell, Cassandra - Narrator

Opinion

From Library Staff

Sometimes when your feeling sad you want something to make you cry. If that’s how your feeling this is an excellent choice. Beautiful and heartbreaking, this will be a 2020 favorite! With an even pace the story not only deals with immense grief, loss, and survivors guilt, it is also about frien... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Quotes

Add a Quote
ArapahoeMaryA Jul 11, 2020

Take stock of who we are, and what we have, and then use it for good.

What happened is baked into your bones, Edward. It lives under your skin. It’s not going away. It’s part of you and will be part of you every moment until you die. What you’ve been working on, since the first time I met you, is learning to live with that.

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at Library.

Try searching for Dear Edward to see if Library owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top