The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

The Field Guide to the North American Teenager

Downloadable Audiobook
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
A hilarious YA contemporary realistic novel about a witty Black French Canadian teen who moves to Austin, Texas, and experiences the joys, clichés, and awkward humiliations of the American high school experience—including falling in love. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, When Dimple Met Rishi, and John Green.Norris Kaplan is clever, cynical, and quite possibly too smart for his own good. A Black French Canadian, he knows from watching American sitcoms that those three things don't bode well when you are moving to Austin, Texas.Plunked into a new high school and sweating a ridiculous amount from the oppressive Texas heat, Norris finds himself cataloging everyone he meets: the Cheerleaders, the Jocks, the Loners, and even the Manic Pixie Dream Girl. Making a ton of friends has never been a priority for him, and this way he can at least amuse himself until it's time to go back to Canada, where he belongs.Yet against all odds, those labels soon become actual people to Norris...like loner Liam, who makes it his mission to befriend Norris, or Madison the beta cheerleader, who is so nice that it has to be a trap. Not to mention Aarti the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, who might, in fact, be a real love interest in the making. But the night of the prom, Norris screws everything up royally. As he tries to pick up the pieces, he realizes it might be time to stop hiding behind his snarky opinions and start living his life—along with the people who have found their way into his heart.
Edition: Unabridged.
ISBN: 9780062885203
Characteristics: 1 online resource (8 audio files) : digital
audio file
Additional Contributors: Fouhey, James

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Jun 02, 2020

In my opinion The Field Guide to the North American Teenager by Ben Philippe is an amazing read! The story is about a black french Canadian named Norris Kaplan. He moves to Texas and obviously has to go to a new school. It’s not his favorite experience and he catalogs everyone he meets or is around at the time. He never imagined being friends with those people but after a while the labels became people, friends. I related to this story because I know what it’s like to move around and switch schools. I understand how hard it is to make friends and understand the people there. Overall The Field Guide to the North American Teenager brought comedy into that whole experience and there were so many good parts that I just had to tell my family. I would totally recommend this book (audiobook, overdrive, etc) to those that want to see the life of someone going through these struggles, but also want to enjoy the positive aspects. I also think there was a message that would make a lot of sense even though it is overused nowadays: “don’t judge a book by its cover”. It seems to make the most sense to me because he would make comments about all these people he never even met and once he did meet them he realized that he was wrong. And that is something I can relate to and have been working on. The Field Guide to the North American Teenager shows that nobody is perfect and everyone makes mistakes. So, I rate this a 5/5!
@TheBookNerd1 of the Hamilton Public Library Teen Review Board

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at Library.

Try searching for The Field Guide to the North American Teenager to see if Library owns related versions of the work.


  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top